6 Comments
Oct 13, 2019Liked by Alexandra Erin

At the start of a week of meetings and presentations in DC, which was inexplicably blessed with pleasant weather in the midst of summer, my coworkers and I were tromping around the museums of the Smithsonian and feeling crushed by the crowds.

One of my coworkers had heard of something called the National Portrait Gallery, where all the official portraits of the presidents, presidential spouses, and others are kept.

We went there not knowing what to expect, but it wasn't crowded, there were much more than presidential portraits, and it was fascinating.

That was 21 years ago, so who knows what two Republican administrations might have done to the place. So I'm glad to have seen it when I did.

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2019Liked by Alexandra Erin

Isn't the Philbrook wonderful?? I went to Tulsa to work at a horse show - long-time devotees of the show were complaining (all.day.) that it had been moved from Louisville to Tulsa. While I'm sure KY is wonderful horse country (duh), I really loved Tulsa. It reminds me of Calgary with it's old oil money vibe. The architecture is beautiful and charming, and dat museum!!! So glad I took some time to explore.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2019Liked by Alexandra Erin

Business trip to St. Louis in 2004 where I happened upon the wonderfully bizarre City Museum and spent my two post-work evenings climbing around inside spirals of rebar and sliding down old shoe factory slides until closing time (which I think was 11pm the weekend nights I was able to go and is now midnight on Friday and Saturday). Also, pretty good Negroni if I recall rightly, though that may have been when I got to go back again in 2006. https://www.citymuseum.org

Drone flythrough from this year suggests it remains fairly anarchic fun while adding even more neat stuff https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=199&v=ydNHAKn-YDI

Expand full comment